NCS – 11th January

Now I’ve posted quite a lot about NCS on my blog so far but I haven’t actually explained it …

NCS stands for National Citizen Service and may also be known as The Challenge. You have to be between age 15-17 to take part and only costs a small fee. It is a great way to meet you people of a similar age and teaches you skills you don’t learn in school

Taking part in NCS has made my confidence grow and I tried things I never thought I would try in a million years.

It runs in Spring, Summer and Autumn and is honestly worth it. I attended the Summer one.


On the first week of NCS we went to Rock UK in Scotland. We stayed in Cabins and had a few activities a day with some free time in-between some of them.  The first thing we did was go on the Zip wire, I was so scared. I was having a mini panic attack at the top  because of my fear on heights, then I jumped. The adrenaline took over and I was screaming but no longer due to fear.

I enjoyed all the activities which I took part in. The only ones I didn’t were abseiling because I’ve done it before and i know its something I don’t like. High ropes because heights and that. Lastly mountain biking because I had the option of that or shower… I chose shower.

Other activities we did were:

  • Gorge Walking
  • Archery
  • Bushcraft
  • kayaking
  • Low ropes
  • Night Walk – Except it was light ( so we did our own)
  • Nightline
  • Canoeing
  • Orienteering
  • Raft Building
  • Swimming
  • Wide Games

The last night we had a campfire which lasted thanks to Jodie. We roasted Marshmallows and space raiders ( Don’t knock it till the try it)

On the second week we stayed in Student Accommodation. The Bradford waves stayed at Appleton Point. During this week we did lots of challenges and budgeting. We did a Master Chef challenge where we were given money to go out in Knaresborough and buy ingredients to cook a meal for the leaders. My team made Chicken and Chorizo Tagliatelle.

The Third and Fourth week were based at Bradford City. This was where we were giving back to the community. We raised money for Bradford metropolitan Food bank by doing things such as walking round Bradford in onesies/ fancy dress, a fun day and one girl (Bethan) did a sponsored bike ride.

I am honestly so glad that i took part in NCS.

Peace Out x

Random Fact- Mel Blanc (voice of BUGS BUNNY) was allergic to carrots

Previous Blog – http://wp.me/s75geK-sorry

Snapchat: smellymellyx

Instagram: @xmeldoranx

Twitter: @xmelissajadex

 

Leave a Reply

