My Dads Death (sensitive topic) – 3rd January

So today is a Sunday and I haven’t really done anything to be able to post about my day. Instead I am posting about something personal which i will do every once in a while. I understand if you don’t want to read it. It wont always be this deep but needed to get it off my chest.

One thing that has really affected my life is the death of my dad. This is a really sensitive topic to talk about but I have always felt like I need to let it all out and write it down. So sorry if this is slightly depressing /:

The thing that i find hardest about it is that I never saw it coming. Of course I knew that one day it was going to happen but I didn’t expect it for at least another 20 years. My dad always seemed to have his health in check and he didn’t at all look his age. He was a die hard Bradford City fan. Up until he was made redundant from his job, he had a season ticket and he also bought for me to go with him. At this age, I wasn’t particularly happy about being dragged to a football game in the freezing cold but now looking back on it I am glad he did.  Due to his love of the club, this is where we buried some of his ashes. I know for a fact this is something my dad would have loved and I feel happier knowing that after only being able to go to games my Uncle couldn’t make, he now has a permanent season ticket.

One memory that will always be special to me is going down to Wembley with my Dad and my Brother when Bradford City were playing North Hampton and were promoted. I’m so happy that he had the chance to do this, he also went with my brother when they were against Swansea but he couldn’t afford my ticket as well.

So, your probably wondering what happened ?

One night, I was woken up by a banging on my front door. My mum went to answer it and I was trying to listen in but I couldn’t hear a thing. The last thing that I expected was for it to be my auntie telling my mum that my dad had died.  As you would expect I broke down. How could it be that the man that has been there for me and I loved more than anything was taken away from me. If I rang him to come pick me up… he’d be there. sure there would have been some moaning but he was still there. He would call at my house before school every morning and give me some jam sandwiches to have for breakfast and then drop me off at the bus stop that is literally just down the road. These little things all felt so wrong when he was no longer there. I would wake up in the morning and expect his car to be outside waiting for me…But it wasn’t.

He had been complaining about chest pains throughout the day but carried on like he usually would, even taking the time to do the odd job for a neighbor. At one point he had rang the non-emergency  number to get help and they told him if it continues within a specific time frame then he should call back. The pain must have become unbearable and he phoned for help. The front door was locked and the emergency services had to call the police in order for them to break the door in. By the time they had got in he was dead. He had had a heart attack and died on the 22nd of May

I could go into more detail but this is all I have the guts to post about the subject at the moment. I know a lot of people wasn’t expecting me to want to post about this but I want to be as open as possible on here.

I couldn’t have wished for a better Dad, his funeral was the hardest thing I have ever had to do. I am so proud of him and everything he did for people… some of the things people have messaged me about him have made me extremely proud. Posts on his wall saying how much he affected their lives. His work even put together some money like they do if someone has died  and my dads collection was more money than they had ever pulled together- Including people who had worked there a lot longer than my Dad.

I LOVE YOU DAD – FOREVER AND ALWAYS

I would like to thank everyone who has supported me since his death… Thanks for being there for me.

Until Tomorrow x

Random fact#3- Barbie’s full name is Barbara Millicent Roberts.

Previous Blog: https://smellymellyx.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/rollerblading-and-mcdonalds-2nd-january/

Snapchat: smellymellyx

Instagram: @xmeldoranx

Twitter: @xmelissajadex

 

2 thoughts on “My Dads Death (sensitive topic) – 3rd January

Leave a Reply

